Any Kehewin Councillor Can Run for Chief

Last Updated: September 3, 2015By Tags: ,

Kehewin Cree Nation held an election for council on September 1st, 2015. From the election seven people were voted in on Tribal Council. Of those seven Councillors all will be able to run for Chief in the upcoming Chief election on September 29th, 2015. The below image is the decision on this matter.


Three new faces are among the seven Councillors elected. The newly elected include Benjamin (Benny) Badger, Brenda Joly, and Trevor John. Returning to council are Gordon Gadwa Sr., Willie John, Jason Mountain, and Vernon Watchmaker. Councillors wanting to run for Chief must declare his/her intention to run by 11:59 pm tomorrow, September 4th, 2015.

The election to determine Chief will be held on September 29th, 2015 from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm at the Rec Centre in Kehewin. Advance polls will be held at the Chateau Louise, in Edmonton, on September 22nd, 2015 from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm. For more information contact the Kehewin Band Office at 780-826-3333.

news via inbox

Get Connected! Sign up for daily news updates.